Monday, September 10, 2007
I wish . . .
I don't have the hair, money or the women, but the rest is pretty spot on. Even the ambivalent relationship with a bishi - or two. Got to lose the private army, though - way too rowdy . . . and they eat too much.
AHAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAA!!!!
You're a villain!
...though you prefer to think of yourself as misunderstood. You know the world would be a better place if they'd only let you be in charge of it, and if they don't appreciate your genius by themselves you're willing to make them. You've got good hair, a secret base and an ambivalent relationship with the bishounen hero. You've got the money, the women, the best mecha and your own private army, but you still lose in the end to some jumped-up kid with spiky hair. There is no justice.Which generic anime character are you?
Sunday, August 26, 2007
Ground Hog Day Blues
Maybe it's too much Asahi, but I feel like dying right now.I'm sure my life could be a hell of lot worse, but to me it's just a mess right now. Went out tonight with some friends - made the mistake of asking out a woman that I've known for some time and who seemed to like me, but what a f**king disaster. Every time I get knocked down, I feel less and less like standing back up.I just hate the look they give you - sort of a mixture of shock and confusion with a bit of suppressed laughter. The last ten years have been just full of that shit. Maybe it's the acute lack of self confidence that I've radiated ever since I was kidnapped and nearly killed. When I think about it, my personal life has spiraled down since 1992 and I feel like I've been roped and dragged behind the clown mobile.My best friend lives 2,000 miles away. He is the only friend I enjoy being around no matter what mood I'm in or he's in. Unconditional friendship - I guess I'm lucky to even have one friend like that. I just can't relate to any of the superficial assholes around my age that I always seem to meet. I guess if I could, I'd hate myself even more. It seems like so many of the women out here just want to know how much you make and expect you to look like some vain, hairless, heroin chic, hermaphroditic pretty boy. It kills me that some of the worst of these kinds of wenches are about as kissable as a baboon's ass, but they cop the attitude nonetheless.The other day, a young woman revealed more culture and intelligence in a brief conversation than I've seen in women twice her age. I can't remember the last time that's happened - especially with anyone within five years of my age.I think I need to really look at California and this business of mine and decide whether to "stay or go now". The customers suck, the workload is unbearable, the money is laughable and my employees just wear me out with excuses, illnesses and crappy attitudes about work. I've always been too lenient with both of them, and it has made things worse.If I had the balls, I'd probably open a vein and take a hot bath, but I know life can be better. At one time I had cute girlfriends with brains, fun and artistic friends, shorter work hours and decent money - I've never made enough for two or a family, but nobody seemed to mind. My customers think I'm rich, yet they still try to treat me like a bus boy when they need help. Damn their eyes.I hope I snap out of this before Monday. I think I might take a ride into SF tomorrow or drive down to Santa Cruz. I hope something happens to restore my faith in love and friendship. It certainly won't happen as a result of my efforts. I'm so f**king embarrassed - and now half drunk.
Saturday, August 25, 2007
Varekai
Just got back from Cirque de Soleil's Varekai. It was the first live show that I've attended and it was great. Very cool costumes, music, comedy and of course gymnastics. I'll go again when they return and will try to catch "O" in Las Vegas if I go for my 40th.Went with Annie and two of her friends and met some other friends there, but have to admit that I don't know why I bothered to ask Annie. She never said "thank you" or even acknowledged that she enjoyed the show. Her friends did. Why does she have to be like that? I give up on her. I know I've said it before, but at this point it still upsets me and it even interferes with what goes on at work.Maybe when she gets past some of the issues that she appears to be struggling with, she'll be happier. All I know is that I can do my best to tell her that she is attractive, smart and capable of many things, but when the rudeness kicks in, none of the good things seem to matter. I've know her for over three years and it's hard not to be concerned about her, but these days I get the feeling that she'd be happier if I just left her alone - and as long as she continues to be a reliable employee, I'll be happy to oblige.Too bad about the Raiders - who cares. They SUCK and pro sports SUCK - three people passed up the show tonight to watch that game on TV - big whoop. Bet they enjoyed watching the Raiders lose the whole time. Sports are fine and more people, like me, should actively play them, but when people arrange their lives around watching these arrogant, unloyal millionaire athletes, and their team owners, who'll screw their fans out of money every chance they get, I say, "Why bother?" It's out of control.Okay - big day tomorrow. Lots of work, so maybe of few episodes of anime and off to bed. All in all, a pretty good day.
Monday, August 20, 2007
Psycho Cat
Rossini, my cat, the one in the picture next to my user name, is driving me nuts.He keeps running into the room, biting my leg (lightly) and running away. Then he cries and tries to run up the walls. It was funny - ONCE - but he has been at it all night. I tried playing with him, but he won't settle down. I'm going to turn him into a hat or a pair of gloves if he doesn't knock it off.Work has been tough. Lots to do before my workshop next week. (Something just crashed in the living room - gee, I wonder who did it?) I need some time off, but it will have to wait. Trying to make plans to spend my 40th birthday this year in Las Vegas with a bunch of friends. It's the most logical choice for location, cost and things to do. We're going to rent a few condos, through various time shares, so that nobody has to pay for accommodations. I may still spend a night or two in elaborate casino/hotel.Going to see Cirque de Soleil next Sunday. I like the creepy atmosphere they often create - I hope this show is a good one. Should buy DVD Dralion - that's my favorite. Their live shows are EXPENSIVE. We're talking upper crusty carnies here. I wouldn't pay this much to see the bearded lady, the dog boy and the snake girl perform No Exit. Yeah, I know - that was over my head, too.This Sunday I'm taking my Mom to the cemetery. It's been over three years since my Dad took his life. Over time, it doesn't seem bother you as much or as often, but it never goes away. Sometimes I dream about him and I'm usually sad the whole day. I hate it when a dream makes you wake up upset.Oh well, sometimes these things remind me to enjoy life and to live it to the fullest while I can. Like Ringo said "Tomorrow Never Knows".
Wednesday, August 15, 2007
Temptress Moon
Just watched Temptress Moon with Gong Li - what a dish. She is always convincing and engaging - whether she's playing an opium smoking slut or an arrogant princess. I'm sure the Chinese are sick of her, but at least she is a great actress - unlike many of our American leading lady counterparts - I won't name names and offend everyone.So many foreign films have engaging stories and great actors without the car chases and bloodletting. I can't think of an American film in recent history that can even compare to some of the anime films I've seen. The plots are hokey, the actors SUCK and the hype around the films is ridiculous. If it's not about gruesome murders, rogue cops, gangsters, sci-fi brutality, terrorism or espionage, it ain't gettin' made in America. Occasionally they come out with a drama, but they end up being sappy and everybody in the movie is from the South or is white trash dying of some horrible disease. Think about it.Lately they've been trying to pass off these corny WWII epics as great films. Movies like "Shaving Ryan's Privates", "Pearl Har-bore" are just watered down US propaganda films designed to give Americans a hard on for war - it seems to be working, too. From watching these films, one might believe that the rest of the world is filled with evil miscreants who stir up trouble because they are jealous of "our way of life" -- an "we" are just pure, self-less, liberty loving, divine beings who rush in to save the world in the final reel flying a tattered "Old Glory". If you want great films about war, see Rhapsody in August or Grave of the Fireflies. If America were a human body, Hollywood would be the a**hole.I hope you're all getting this. It WILL be on the final exam.
Wednesday, August 1, 2007
Elf Bowling . . .
Christmas may be over, but Elf Bowling is always in season.Go to nstorm.com and download away. Whee!
Thursday, July 26, 2007
Time to make the doughnuts . . .
There used to be this great commercial back East for Dunkin'Donuts. This goofy little guy with a mustache, wearing a nightcap, is lying in bed and muttering "time to make the doughnuts". Then you'd see him mechanically get out of bed,with his eyes closed, turn off the alarm clock that said 4:00AM, brush his teeth, shower, get dressed, drive to the doughnut place - and all the while muttering "time to make the doughnuts".Today, for the first time since I started my business, I felt like that guy. This isn't good.On a darker note, I remember a song by Richard Thompson called Burns Supper that really sums up my life lately. The melody is hauntingly beautiful - just guitar and voice. Once you hear it, it will always stay with you. ******O you speak the words, locked in my breastBut it's late for me, let an old man restOne more black and tan on the barricadeTo keep me safe from lovingI close my eyes, close my eyesTo the cold flame of the Northern LightsI close my eyes, close my eyesAnd I see you still in the shuttered night.What a new-found friend is honestyTo see ourselves as others seeTo see the shy boy inside the manIs that all I am - just starved of loving?I close my eyes, close my eyesTo the cold flame of the Northern LightsI close my eyes, close my eyesAnd I see you still in the shuttered night.*******I understand that a Burns Supper is a Scottish tradition of honoring the poet Robert Burns with food, drink and poetry - they even honor haggis and read a poem to a piece of it, then raise a toast to it - weird. This song would rank with the best of Robert Burns' works.
Useless advice . . .
Do not watch Ingmar Bergman films before going to bed. You'll dream in black and white; everyone will speak to you in Swedish; you'll be freezing and wearing a long coat, even though it is summer; conversations will end in long stares and views of dead trees against cloudy skies; Max Von Sydow will want to play chess with you.Went to a pub tonight for a drink and something to eat. About five people turned to me(was eating at the bar) and chatted while waiting for their drinks.. One guy was very gay - I tried to be cool, but I'm sure I gave off this "Boy are YOU gay" body language - it's tough not to. I understand and accept homosexuality as a natural part of life, but when I talk to gay men, it's difficult not to visualize them doing THINGS and I just have to fight the urge to . . . laugh. It's not offensive to me or anything - it just makes me laugh. Now women are different - if they are gay and not butch, I can visualize them doing THINGS and have to fight the urge to . . . ask them to make a video. Why is that? I find most straight men are like that. They rarely get the giggles about two women going at it. Found out last spring a friend's daughter back east announced she is a lesbian - actually bi - and the parents are a bit traumatized. I know it's gotta be tough for the girl - no matter how accepting our society says it is - and the parents, but it can't be helped. They kept hoping it was just "experimental" behavior, but now they know that's just who she is. Finding someone to really love is tough enough, so if she is happy, she's luckier than most. Another person at the bar, a woman, was with this guy who looked like the hunchbacked dude in "Rocky Horror". She kept looking over at me and smiling with these "I wish I were somewhere else" looks while he gnawed at a plate of bangers and mash. At first I thought I had tartar sauce on my nose, but then I realized she was just not into her sideshow date. I'm sure guys must think the same thing when they see me with an attractive woman - which is rare.I'm sure I'm too fussy (besides being too fat and bald) to get back into dating. A woman with some wit, common sense, a healthy curiosity and a lust for life seems to be a tall order. I'd also hope she'd be modestly cute, didn't have kids, a psycho ex and weighed less than me, but I guess I'm dreaming now that I'm pushing 40. I don't try very hard either. Okay - no more Bergman, Kurosawa or black and white foreign films before bed for at least a week. Rossini is biting my leg - he must want food. What a life.
Saturday, July 14, 2007
New Year's Day
I hate New Year's - it makes me think about time and all of the things associated with the passing of time.Out of fear and frustration, most people act like idiots on this holiday -- screaming, drinking too much and slobbering over everybody like this is such an event. New Year's just seems to remind me of how little I've done in a year and how quickly time begins to pass by as you get older.It also marks the end of the holiday season and I get depressed about things getting back to normal. I love Christmas and traditions that I keep during this time of year.I know I should think of this time as a fresh start, but it just doesn't feel like that. So much baggage carries over from the previous year, no matter how hard you work.Rossini and I have just been sitting in the living room listening to music and watching the colored Christmas lights, ornaments and candles that will soon get packed up for another year. He's oblivious to what I'm thinking and feeling and every now and then I envy him.It's hard not to wonder what 2003 will be like and will I make it through unscathed? What will I be doing in the early morning of January 1st, 2004? I can only hope for health, happiness and the continued support of family and friends. So much of life is out of our control - one has to learn to submit to the human condition -- to enjoy the good and endure the bad, remembering that neither one lasts long enough to completely overshadow the other.
Christmas Time
Okay - I have 12 days to be festive, so I think I'll see a movie.Anyone want to go see The Lion King on the IMAX? I've never seen the whole movie, so I guess I might as well see a 4 story high version of it with remixed digital surround sound and do it right. Then I need to see The Two Towers, Pinocchio, Die Another Day and whatever else. I think the last movie I saw in a theater was Lord of the Rings - and before that Gladiator.Okay, so I'm fussy about seeing movies in theaters. First of all, ticket prices are too high. Secondly, I always end up sitting behind loud whisperers, fidgety kids, tall people with hats, coughers or teenagers trying to dry hump each other, and finally, 95% of American films SUCK! They are made for morons who think that Adam Sandler, Pauly Shore and Carrot Top are creative and funny. Eight Crazy Nights - who paid $8 to see that load of puke? If you did, I'd like to sell you a star in the constellation Boobus Americanus.Is there a 20 minute chase scene? Is there graphic violence or pointless sex every 15 minutes. Does someone get eaten alive or die a slow, horrible death? Are the bad guys German, Italian, Catholic Priests, Arabs or Muslims? Do the actors just blurt out one liners in between explosions or expensively produced scenes of carnage? If not,it ain't fit for American consumption.Kurosawa's last film didn't get released in the US until 8 years after it's official release and 3 years after Kurosawa was already dead. It never played in theaters around here - I just saw it on DVD and it was an incredible film, but it contained none of the elements in the paragraph above. Even the American critics said, "Where were the samurai scenes and sword fights?" "Too much static dialogue, not enough action""Sadly, this film is not as intense and angry as his earlier films - Kurosawa's gotten old and predictably optimistic." Losers.Okay, I feel better now. Don't get me wrong, I love a great sword fight or a naked minx as much as the next guy, just make it part of the plot and make the plot interesting.
Monday, July 9, 2007
A Merry Christmas
Well, Christmas Eve and Christmas Day went pretty well. Had lots of good food and drink. Spent both days with family.I got money, a sweater, a Todai's GC and a Sony CD burner for my PC (big surprise gift from my brother who usually gets me refrigerator magnets or crazy straws)Will take a few days off and go to work on Monday and then will take two more days off . . . excellent, Smithers. Release the hounds.Remember, the feast of Christmas lasts 12 days starting from today and the Christmas season officially ends on Candlemas, February 2nd, now better known as Ground Hog's Day, so keep them presents coming if you haven't made the Christmas Day deadline. Baby Jesus says, "Party On".
Monday, June 25, 2007
Ho Ho Hum
Slooooooow today. This is the last Sunday we stay open. Miburo is sleeping on my lap and I'm just listening to music and trying to get some paperwork done.Need to get a few more presents and food in preparation for Christmas Eve. Need some time off. I'm bored, but it is a nice change from phone calls every minute and customers swarming around with their untethered children.For some reason, I really miss having a girlfriend. You'd think by now I wouldn't care anymore, but I think Christmas makes you think about the past and when I think about past Christmases, I remember sharing it with someone other than family and it was nice. Okay - now I'm depressed. Thanks - stupid fucking journal.
Tuesday, June 19, 2007
Whatever happened to Mad-libs?
Dear Santa,I have been a good Boy.It really wasn't my fault what happened at Annie's Christmas party. It was Coz who spiked the punch with too much Rum. I can't help it if I drank 21 glasses. It was so good---smelled and tasted just like Pine-sol.I thought it was funny when I put Sabrina's sock on my head and danced the Dead Bug on the Papa San Chair while singing `Why Don't We Do It in the Road'. I didn't mean to break Annie's Blender and don't know why Annie would sue me for Car Jacking.I don't remember calling Jason's wife a wet ostrich---even though she looked like one with blue eye shadow and purple lipstick!And when I threw up on Gayle's husband's foot, it was only because I ate too much of that pizza.After all that fun, I admit I was a little tired. So I fell asleep on my way home and drove my Gremlin through my neighbor's roof. I don't think that was any reason for my neighbor to call me a fuzzy cat and have me arrested for adultery!So, Santa...here I sit in my jail cell on Christmas Eve, all hot and cold. And I'm really not to blame for any of this itchy stuff. Please bring me what I want the most---bail money!Sincerely and slowly yours,Rob (Really a nice Boy!)P.S. It's only 25 bucks!
Rubuh and Peesuh . . .
It's easy to get mad and stew about stuff, but I just wanted to say (knowing my employee will read this)that she should understand by now that I care about her and love her like family.We've both been through a great deal over the last three years. She has matured and blossomed into a clever and extroverted young woman, so when she slips back into old habits, I get upset. I'm sure she knows that I want her to continue to mature so that when she finally leaves here, she will have the skills to do what she wants, wherever she wants and live a full and happy life.
Monday, June 18, 2007
I Give Up . . .
Got angry at one of my employees today. She asked me why I needed her to come in today and just generally acted completely disinterested in everything about work, except getting paid. Spent a half an hour playing around on line.I gave her a couple of projects,then left to run some errands but was so mad, I came right back and told her to go home. Then she seemed upset and surprised that I was angry at her. I hate losing my temper with her - I know she's sensitive and has a good deal of stress in her life, too, but when she acts indifferent and annoyed with the little work I give her, I just lose it.I give up - I'm sick and tired of this routine. No more extra hours, for one thing. When I need the extra help, all I get are excuses and grief. I'll just work more hours. I don't think I'll ever find an employee that takes an interest in this business. It's hard to find employees that take an interest the business, but I go out of my way to pay well, give advances, allow extended time off and just about anything an employee needs to feel comfortable. She probably works twice as hard at her other job because they are more strict about everything. Well, I'm not changing my way of running the business, but I guess if I can't get the help I need, I can eliminate the perks.This business is stressful enough without having to deal with crap from employees who think I'm unfair or annoying.On a lighter note, Kuro Neko is staying at home with me. Rossini is at the Music Exchange and Miburo is with Annie. Kuro is very sociable. His only bad habits are trying to sleep between my feet (like Rossini) and licking my hands all the time - especially at night. I need to take pictues of the three cats and put them up here somewhere. Right now, they are about the only things that don't stress me out. Even Rossini's psycho behavior is enjoyable . . . to a point.
Tired . . .
I'm working too much. I've been working hard trying to get everything done before Christmas and the end of the year - phew! When I'm not working, I'm working and when I'm not working, I'm sitting still and staring at the pretty lights.Need to take time off this weekend and just go for a walk -maybe I can get one of the girls to cover the store on Sunday.So why am I up this late? I slay me.
World of Shit Rant . . .
I can't believe how eager our government is for war. For over 10 years, we've been pounding those poor Iraqi bastards with weekly bombings and killing tens of thousands through sanctions on food and medicine. Now we want to usurp their trillion dollar oil reserves and hide behind this "weapons of mass destruction" bullshit. There are plenty of rogue nations out there armed to the teeth with nukes already. We KNOW they have them (we don't have to send in a team) and they are willing to use them, but we don't seem concerned. Why? They have nothing that we want. What does India or Pakistan have outside of billions of people, dust and poverty? No oil there. It's "more OK" for India to have them, so we rag on Pakistan - because they're Muslims. We recently pretended to care about North Korea - let's start Korea and Vietnam up again. Oh, but the Prez sez this ain't 'bout religion. This ain't 'bout A-rabs and Mooslims - it's about terrorism and a "mad man" and "weapons of mass destruction". Now they claim Iraq was behind 911 and everything else - we don't have the proof, but we're working on creating it. Seems Hussein is envious of our massive selctions of soft drinks and the number of blonde pop tarts that show off their belly buttons on MTV, so now he wants to destroy us. Give me a f**king break. I've actually heard "journalists" use those examples.This is about oil, money, religious hatred, ignorance and our government's arrogance in thinking the rest of the world wants to be just like us and therefore hates us. Well, I've got news for America - this country hasn't been the "promised land" for many years. It's a welfare state that works for you if you have money and power or if you're a criminal. Most Americans with money and power are criminals.Sure, we're the wealthiest nation on earth. We consume more than our share of everything. Hooray! We drove the Russians into the Third World by outspending them on "weapons of mass destruction" and our reward for winning is nation of overweight idiots who know more about Ozzy Osbourne's personal life than they do about politics, history and world events combined. They could more easily name the casts of all of the past Survivor programs, than the 50 States. We're are in deep shit and there isn't a bottom in sight.On the other hand, I went shopping today and bought some nice floor pillows. Slowly transforming my living room into a mini do jo. Have put together my Christmas list for friends and family and can't wait to spend some time this week getting ready for the holidays. To me, Christmas is about family, friends, food and parties. I like to give gifts, but I give gifts throughout the year, so I never stress about that crap.As long as I have beautiful music to listen to, family, good friends, rum and cokes, yummy snacks and everything they don't advertise as on sale for 2 days only at Target, I'll feel the true meaning of Christmas - which transcends religions, races and cultures and that meaning is -- elf bowling . . . oh, and love. By love, I mean the lofty kind - not the pervy stuff - well, that counts, too.
Saturday, June 16, 2007
Christmas Time is Here . . .
I'm seeing the world through the bottom of a rum and coke tonight. Everything appears dark and sweet.Have to work tomorrow. *grrr* I decided to open on Sundays to attract more business - I'm sure it will turn out like one of those schemes that Wiley Coyote always thinks up. I should rename the store ACME Music and put some bird seed outside the front door.I just want to go away for a year. Taking that vacation to Italy really opened my eyes -- but sometimes I think life is easier with blinders on. You don't know any better.Looking forward to Christmas and a few parties. Don't really get gifts any more, just like the food, drink and social gatherings. Get really nostalgic about how Christmas used to be when I was young, when my family was together and, quoting Paul, "life was an open book."I think I watch too much anime and Kurosawa - the Japanese appear to be fond of sentimental stories and I think it's rubbing off. Having cats doesn't help either. They bring out a part of me that I thought was dead when I realized I probably wouldn't have children. I find myself talking to the little beasts as if they were children - especially Rossini. I've got to remember to post their pictures up on the journal.Time for bed - would like to have another drink and a pipe, but I've got to sing again Monday. Can't wait until that's all over - want to enjoy Christmas. I feel sorry for people who grow up without traditions and holidays - sometimes they're the only thing that keep me connected.
Friday, June 15, 2007
Too much to drink . . .
Oh man, I sang in Danville tonight and then went to a pub afterwards. I had my first beer, a strong ale, on an empty stomach and got hammered instantly.The bar had great music and every woman in there was an 11 out of 10. Of course, they were 10 to 18 years younger than me, so I felt like a major hentai. But the way I see it, men are instinctively drawn to beauty and can't help it - no matter how old we get. It's nature calling. Well tonight, nature was screaming into my ear with a bullhorn. All of them were too cute to be true and dressed to accentuate everything worth accentuating. Off the charts.I need a drink . . .
Wednesday, June 13, 2007
Thanksgiving
Today is Thanksgiving. Time to reflect on things.Even though I get mad about the store, careless people and my life in general, I'm pretty lucky.I'm thankful for having a good family, having had a good childhood and a good education. I have many fond memories of my life growing up in Michigan. I'm thankful for having been in love and having been loved, even though it never lasted. Many people never experience what I have and there is still hope that I will again.I'm thankful for the few good friends that I have. Even though I often wish for more, the ones I have, stand by me and have tried to support me no matter how bad things have gotten. I think they believe in me and respect my efforts to do the right thing and to do things well - even though I often fall short.I'm thankful for my business and doing what I love, even though the pay sucks. It's not easy to start a business from scratch, maintain it and then build it up. My current employees are not perfect, but they are honest and sincere. I think that keeping them on has helped them to grow. It would have been much easier to have never hired them or to have let them go, but I've seen them mature and grow from the experience of working for me and I've learned from them, as well.Although my father has been dead for three years and even though his death was tragic and premature, I am thankful that I got the chance to know him better before he died. Even though his last few years were full of anxiety, confusion and pain, I believe he knew that I loved him and wanted to help him, even though I could never find a way.Although my mother can be burden and even though she unintentionally drives me crazy at times, I know she is lonely and suffering. I am happy that I can be here to help her as she ages and slowly loses her abilities. She has always been a good mother to me and I've yet to meet anyone who is as kind and loving to her family and nearly everyone that she meets.Finally I am thankful for my health and for the success that I enjoy. My success has never been financial, but I am able to barely afford a decent place to live in a beautiful area of California while I try to make some of my dreams come true. I am also grateful that I understand that it is the journey that matters, not the destination. None of us ever truly reach a destination and if we could, we would wither and die, but at least some of us try to enjoy the experience of being alive - even though life is an equal portion of sorrow and joy - neither lasts long enough to be completely overtaken by the other.Happy Thanksgiving to the one person who may read this and the billions who will not.
Tuesday, June 12, 2007
Apathy
I pay better than most retail stores around here and really go out of my way to take care of my employees.Even though I give them advances, presents, bonuses and often buy lunch or other junk for them, I find that some really don't appreciate it and basically abuse the situation.It's hard to discipline once you've spoiled a child (something I said to an employee and her friend today) but I guess the whole thing was lost on the employee.If business continues to stay slow, I may just clean the slate and start working by myself for awhile. Between the illnesses, excuses and requests for time off, I don't see how my employees are helping my business. Most of the complaints I get are about their attitudes or their inability to take and fill orders. Why do I do it?The whole thing makes me stink.
Tuesday, May 8, 2007
Is there anybody out there?
Here is my first entry. I have nothing to say - for once.How depressing is that? Umm . . . I know:Today my best friend turned 37 - he lives in Chicago with his girlfriend. I wish he lived out here or at least I wish I could find interesting friends my age. Most of my friends are either 10 years older or 10 years younger *grrr*Okay, well tomorrow I have to go to some Confirmation ritual for my nephew (I'm acting as his sponsor or moral compass - uh! oh!)and then I'm going to SF with some friends to shop! Yeah! Macy's Holiday Lane, Virgin Records and then on to lots of pubs to drink -- mmm Irish coffees -- mmm Rum and Coke -- mmm Monday morning cotton mouth and feelin' queasy!I need to figure out how to make my journal look snazzy. Annie, one of my employees, will be happy to help - she lives for this stuff and she's the one who introduced me to the Live Journal thing.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)